Announcing Our 2021 Calendar of Educational Events

The National Information Standards Organization (NISO) is pleased to announce its calendar of virtual events scheduled for 2021. The NISO Education Committee, with input from the NISO membership, has planned a roster of programs relevant to professionals working across all sectors of the information community. This year’s topics focus on developing support for different content formats, the infrastructure for publishing and hosting that content, licensing and lending, and assessing use. 

NISO members automatically receive access to a series of monthly webinars. These 90-minute sessions vary by format—some are formal presentations by speakers, while others are roundtable discussions by industry stakeholders. Dates of the 2021 webinars and associated topics are listed below.  

Wednesday, January 13, 2021
Libraries and University Publishing Operations

Wednesday, February 10, 2021 
Content Presentation: Diversity of Formats 

Wednesday, March 10, 2021 
Building Trust: Credibility of Content

Wednesday, April 14, 2021 
Meaningful Metrics (First of Two)

Wednesday, May 12, 2021 
Meaningful Metrics (Second of Two)

Wednesday, June 9, 2021 
Reset: What Are Our New Priorities?

Wednesday, August 11, 2021 
Audits and Assessment

Wednesday, September 8, 2021 
Data: Creation, Stewardship, Use

Wednesday, October 13, 2021 
Workflows across Systems: Innovation

Wednesday, November 10, 2021
Working with Semantics: Technology and Tools

Wednesday, December 8, 2021 
Cost-Effective Product and Project Management

Wednesday, December 15, 2021 
Team-Building

Adopting New Timing, New Formats

Also planned for 2021 are seven virtual conferences as well as three longer special events. In an innovative approach, each virtual conference will be delivered to attendees as a mix of synchronous and asynchronous speaker presentations and follow-up segments for engagement and discussion rather than demanding a continuous four-hour block of your day. Each program will be carefully tailored to the topic to maximize the value for professional development as well as support cross-sector dialogue. Separate registration for these longer events is required. NISO will continue to offer a subscription package for organizations wishing to participate in all of the following:  

Wednesday, January 20, 2021
Owning, Licensing, and Sharing Digital Content

Wednesday, March 24, 2021
Community-Owned Infrastructure: Partnerships and Collaboration

Wednesday, April 21, 2021
Preprints 

Wednesday, June 16, 2021
Open Research

Wednesday, August 25, 2021
Ebooks and Collections

Wednesday, September 29, 2021
Effective Data Management

Wednesday, November 17, 2021
Emerging Technologies

These continuing special events are planned for 2021 as well: 

Wednesday, April 28, 2021 
Engineering and Upgrading Systems for New Content Types and Function (NFAIS Forethought Strategic Summit)

Friday, June 25, 2021
BISG-NISO Changing Standards Landscape Forum (traditionally scheduled in conjunction with ALA’s Annual Conference)

Wednesday, October 20, 2021 
NISO-NFAIS Humanities Roundtable

“NISO virtual events reflect the concerns of a diverse and global information community,” notes Todd Carpenter, Executive Director of NISO. “These programs bring together a spectrum of community stakeholders to consider issues from a variety of perspectives. Stakeholders are faced with needs and obligations that may not otherwise be fully understood. Discussion and engagement allow solutions to emerge, and building that kind of consensus is critical to member success.” 

Additional details about the 2021 programs are now available on the NISO website, and registration (via a new host system) will be opening soon.