NISO Elects New Vice Chair and Directors to Serve Community

Baltimore, MD -- June 18, 2009 -- The membership of the National Information Standards Organization (NISO) has elected new leadership for the 2009-2010 term that begins on July 1, 2009. Janice Fleming has been elected to serve as Vice Chair of the NISO Board of Directors. She will transition into the chairmanship in the 2010-11 term. Currently, Fleming serves as Director of Business and Planning, PsycINFO at the American Psychological Association. Fleming has been active in publishing and the indexing & abstracting communities for many years and currently serves as a member of NISO's Board of Directors. Chuck Koscher, Director of Technology at CrossRef, who was elected last year and has served as Vice Chair during the current term, will become Chair of NISO for the 2009-10 term.
"NISO has a great deal of opportunity before us," said Koscher, the incoming Chair. "With recent successes on the Standardized Usage Statistics Harvesting Initiative (SUSHI) and Shared Electronic Resources Understanding (SERU), new work on single sign-on authentication and Cost of Resource Exchange (CORE), as well as potential projects on XML structures, physical delivery, and e-resource management, NISO is at the forefront of technology issues facing the information community. Helping to lead the organization in this exciting time will be a great honor."

"I am very excited about the opportunity to serve the community as part of NISO's leadership," said Fleming. "NISO has been invigorated over the past years and working with the other Directors and staff, I hope to continue to raise the organization's profile and extend its reach."

The following industry leaders were also elected to seats on the NISO Board of Directors. They will join other currently serving Directors in managing and setting strategic direction for the organization.

Nancy Barnes, Standards Development Specialist, Standards & Records Management, ARMA International

John Harwood, Professor, Pennsylvania State University

Charles Lowry, Executive Director, Association of Research Libraries

Heather Reid, Director of Data Systems, Copyright Clearance Center

Winston Tabb, Dean of University Libraries, Johns Hopkins University

Other members of the NISO Board who will continue their terms through 2009-10 are:

Nancy Davenport, President, Nancy Davenport & Associates

Bruce Heterick, Director, Library Relations, JSTOR

Barbara Preece, Executive Director, Boston Library Consortium

Bruce Rosenblum, CEO, INERA, Inc.

Mike Teets, Vice President Enterprise Architecture, OCLC

Oliver Pesch, Chief Strategist for Information Technologies at EBSCO Publishing, who is currently serving as NISO's Chair, will replace James Neal, Vice President for IS & University Librarian at Columbia University, in the role as Past Chair.

"NISO is extremely lucky to have such an esteemed group of industry leaders able to serve on its Board and provide guidance to the organization," said Todd Carpenter, Managing Director of NISO. "The diversity of NISO's community is well represented by the new group of Directors and under their leadership the organization will continue to advance its mission."

About NISO
NISO fosters the development and maintenance of standards that facilitate the creation, persistent management, and effective interchange of information so that it can be trusted for use in research and learning. To fulfill this mission, NISO engages libraries, publishers, information aggregators, and other organizations that support learning, research, and scholarship through the creation, organization, management, and curation of knowledge. NISO works with intersecting communities of interest and across the entire lifecycle of an information standard. NISO is a not-for-profit association accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). More information about NISO is available on its website: For more information please contact NISO on (301) 654-2512 or via email on


Todd Carpenter

Executive Director
Todd Carpenter joined NISO as Executive Director in September 2006. ...